Home NEWSCITY TALKS Bharat Ratna For Charan Singh, PV Narasimha Rao And MS Swaminathan

Bharat Ratna For Charan Singh, PV Narasimha Rao And MS Swaminathan

by Web Desk
Bharat Ratna For Charan Singh, PV Narasimha Rao And MS Swaminathan

Prime Minister Narendra Modi announced that former Prime Ministers PV Narasimha Rao and Chaudhary Charan Singh, along with agricultural scientist MS Swaminathan, will be awarded the Bharat Ratna, India’s highest civilian honour. The announcement was made today.

This year, announcements have been made, so far, for five recipients. The awardees number surpasses the figure of four that was awarded in 1999. 2024 thereby marks the highest number of Bharat Ratna awards in a single year.

Praising Narasimha Rao for his liberalisation policies that transformed the Indian economy, Charan Singh for his advocacy for farmers’ rights, and MS Swaminathan for his globally-recognized contributions to agriculture, the Prime Minister applauded their invaluable service to the nation.

Among the recipients this years, Lal Krishna Advani is the sole living recipient while the balance of four will be receiving the award posthumously.

We Bring You The List Of Bharat Ratna Awardees For 2024:

  1. Karpoori Thakur (Posthumous) (politician and former Bihar Chief Minister): Karpoori Thakur was a well-known socialist leader from Bihar and former chief minister of the state. Fondly referred to as ‘Jan Nayak’ (people’s leader), Thakur will become the 49th recipient of this prestigious award.
  2. Lal Krishna Advani (politician and former Deputy Prime Minister):Advani has held the position of president of the Bharatiya Janata Party for the longest duration since its establishment in 1980. Over the course of his lengthy career as a statesman and politician, he served as both the home minister and deputy Prime Minister from 1999 to 2004. Atal Bihari Vajpayee was the prime minister at the time.
  3. Pamulaparthi Venkata Narasimha Rao (Posthumous) (former Prime Minister of India): Rao, who passed away in 2004, was a multifaceted politician, a revered scholar and a statesman. Rao’s notable contributions include not only his tenure as the chief minister of Andhra Pradesh but also as a central minister and longstanding legislator in both the Parliament and the state assembly. Rao, a respected Telugu leader, served a full five-year term as prime minister from 1991 to 1996 and is hailed for his pivotal role in introducing economic reforms in the country.
  4. Chaudhary Charan Singh (Posthumous) (former Prime Minister of India): Singh, who was a prominent Jat leader hailing from western Uttar Pradesh, served as prime minister during 1979-80. He played a pivotal role in spearheading anti-Congress politics during an era when the party held dominant influence. He is hailed as the chief architect of land reforms in Uttar Pradesh and the champion of farming communities in the country.
  5. Mankombu Sambasivan Swaminathan (Posthumous) (agriculture scientist): Swaminathan made significant contributions to agriculture and the welfare of farmers. His visionary guidance revolutionised Indian agriculture, ensuring both food security and prosperity for the nation. While making the announcement, the prime minister emphasised his close relationship with Swaminathan, valuing his wisdom and contributions. The renowned agronomist passed away last year.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment