Home SPORTSFIFA World Cup 2022 Gareth Southgate has named his 26-man Britain squad for the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022

Gareth Southgate has named his 26-man Britain squad for the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022

Britain squad for the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022

by Soumadeep Bagchi
Britain squad for the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022

The squad was uncovered on Thursday evening in front of the players showing up in camp on Monday morning after this end of the week’s homegrown club apparatuses.

Included are Jordan Henderson and Raheem Authentic, who will join the celebrated rundown of Britain players to have contended at three World Cups.

Southgate has chosen a gathering with a mix of youth and experience, with 13 players set for their most memorable World Cup and one more three making a beeline for their lady senior significant competition, in Conor Gallagher, James Maddison and Callum Wilson – despite the fact that Gallagher has an Under-17 World Cup champ’s decoration to his name from 2017, when Phil Foden was likewise named player of the competition.

At the 2018 World Cup, Britain had the joint second most youthful squad when it came to average age at 26 and the Three Lions have named one more energetic gathering of players, with a typical time of 26.4.

The Three Lions supervisor has named three goalkeepers, eight protectors, six midfielders and eight advances in his gathering, in spite of the fact that it’s quite significant the adaptability in the squad with players in every outfield area equipped for playing in numerous positions.

Britain’s instructing staff will make a beeline for St. George’s Park at the end of the week, prior to the players’ appearance on Monday.

They will then travel to Qatar on Tuesday in front of the Three Lions’ initial Gathering B match against Iran at the Khalifa Worldwide Arena on Monday 21 November (start off 1pm GMT).

Britain’s subsequent game sees them face USA on Friday 25 November at the Al Bayt Arena (start off 7pm) before the third Gathering B apparatus as opposed to adjoining Ribs on Tuesday 29 November at the Ahmad container Ali Arena (start off 7pm).

The competition starts off on Sunday 20 November when has Qatar face Ecuador and the Last happens on Sunday 18 December.

Southgate will examine his squad choice when he addresses the media at 2.15pm and you can watch the question and answer session underneath.

The squad

Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Newcastle United), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal)

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Conor Coady (Everton, loan from Wolverhampton Wanderers), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle United), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Ben White (Arsenal)

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Manchester City), Declan Rice (West Ham United),

Forwards: Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), James Maddison (Leicester City), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Chelsea), Callum Wilson (Newcastle United)

Related Articles

Leave a Comment