Home Latest News Dates of Lok Sabha Election 2024 Announced

Dates of Lok Sabha Election 2024 Announced

by Web Desk

Dates of Lok Sabha Election 2024 Announced

As informed to the media earlier, the Election Commission of India announced the dates of the forthcoming Lok Sabha 2024 elections on Saturday. Lok Sabha polls will be held in 7 phases between the months of April to June 2024. Counting for all elections, including by-elections, assembly elections, and general elections, is scheduled for June 4. The current government’s term is ending on June 16

In West Bengal, citizens will cast their votes in 7 phases starting April 19. The results will be announced on June 4, said the Election Commission. Notably, in Lok Sabha elections 2019, the voting in the state was conducted in 7 phases.

A look at the voting schedule for Lok Sabha election 2024 in Bengal:

April 19: Cooch Behar, Jalpaiguri, Alipurduar

April 26: Darjeeling, Raiganj, Balurghat

May 7: Malda, Murshidabad, Jangipur

May 13: Bardhaman, Berhampore, Durgapur, Ranaghat, Bolpur

May 20: Howrah, Ulluberia, Hoogly, Sreerampur, Barrackpore, Bongaon

May 25: Kanthi, Tamluk, Ghatal, Purulia, Bankura, Bishnupur, Medinipur and Jhargram

June 1: North and South Kolkata, Diamond Harbour, Jadavpur, Dum Dum, Barasat, Bashirhat, Joynagar  and Mathurapur


Why the voting exercise is significant in West Bengal

In the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections in West Bengal, the Trinamool Congress (TMC) led by Mamata Banerjee witnessed a decrease in seats from 30 to 18, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) made substantial gains, securing 18 seats compared to just two in 2014. Furthermore, from a 17.02% vote share and two seats in 2014, BJP’s figures soared to a 40.25% vote share and 18 Lok Sabha seats in 2019.

This was considered a notable shift in the state’s political landscape, reflecting the BJP’s growing influence in West Bengal.

Right now, the scenario does look challenging for Mamata Banerjee as opinion polls are suggesting that BJP is likely to win far more seats seats this time.  Some surveys by leading media groups have even claimed the projections suggest that the BJP led by Leader of the Opposition Suvendu Adhikari, is poised to win 25 out of 42 seats in the state.

Interestingly, the Trinamool Congress leader Kunal Ghosh has stated that their party will win about 30 to 35 seats in West Bengal.


Lok Sabha elections 2024: Nearly 97 crore citizens eligible to vote

Nearly 97 crore people are eligible to exercise their Universal Adult Franchise (UAF) in the forthcoming polls at over 12 lakh polling stations across the nation. In the 2019 Lok Sabha election, the BJP had won 303 seats while the Congress remained the Opposition ranks with 52 seats. The party could not muster enough numbers to claim the position of Leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha.

The Modi government has claimed that the NDA is likely to win over 400 seats in the elections with the BJP winning in over 370 seats alone.




Related Articles

Leave a Comment