Home NEWSCURRENT AFFAIRS FIH Hockey Men’s Junior World Cup 2023: On At Kuala Lumpur, India Meets Spain Today

FIH Hockey Men’s Junior World Cup 2023: On At Kuala Lumpur, India Meets Spain Today

by Web Desk
Junior Hockey World Cup: India Makes It To Quarterfinals

India began their FIH Hockey Men’s Junior World Cup 2023 campaign in Pool C with a 4-2 win over the
Republic of Korea in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia on Tuesday. Araijeet Singh Hundal achieved a hat-trick as
India put out a dominant display to beat Korea 4-2 in its opening pool match. Hundal scored in the
11th, 16th and 41st minutes, while Amandeep added to the score for India in the 30th minute in the
Pool C match. Dohyun Lim and Minkwon Kim were scorers for Korea. The Indians continued to
overpower by scoring two more goals in the second quarter through Hundal and Amandeep and they

were 3-0 up at half-time. Korea pulled up their score by one back through Dohyun midway in the third
quarter, but India replied soon after with Hundal completing his hat-trick with another field goal.

With a 4-1 lead in the match, it appeared that the Indians were slowing down a bit. The Koreans kept
pressing for goals though, and they were able to reduce the margin further with Minkwon finding the

India Vs Spain Match Today

India next plays against Spain in its second pool match today. Canada is the other country in the four-
team Pool C.

India is a two-time winner, having won the tournament twice (2001 and 2016) and finished as runner-
up once (1997).

Skipper Uttam Singh and his deputy Hundal are the only two players of the team who played in the last
edition of the tournament. India finished at the fourth spot in Bhubaneswar, losing to France.
The Spaniards had won the 3rd position at the 2005 edition in Rotterdam and are likely to be India's
toughest opponent in the pool. Going by form, India will start as favourites.
India's last pool match is against Canada on Saturday.

India had lost to France in the match for the bronze in the previous edition of the tournament in 2021
that was held in Bhubaneswar. The team made a strong start this year with Hundal scoring in the first
quarter off a penalty corner.

4 Pools Of 4 Nations Each

Pool A consists of defending champions Argentina, Australia, Chile, and Malaysia. Pool B has Egypt,
France, Germany, and South Africa. Pool D has Belgium, Netherlands, New Zealand, and Pakistan. The

top two teams from each pool will qualify for the quarterfinals. India is in Pool C along with South Korea,
Spain, and Canada.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment