Home NEWSCURRENT UPDATE Lionel Messi Wins The Best FIFA Men’s Player For 2023

Lionel Messi Wins The Best FIFA Men’s Player For 2023

by Web Desk
Lionel Messi Wins The Best FIFA Men’s Player For 2023

Lionel Messi wins the men’s footballer of the year title at The Best FIFA Men’s Player For 2023

The 36-year-old defeated competition from Manchester City’s Erling Haaland, who was second, and Paris Saint-Germain’s Kylian Mbappe, who was third, to clinch the trophy. Messi and Haaland had a tie of votes, but the former edged past the Norwegian player on captain’s votes and consequently was named the winner.

Messi could not make the trip to London to claim the award as he was with his teammates training for Inter Miami, so Thierry Henry, currently national coach of France and an ex-footballer himself, accepted it on his behalf.

Awards Given To Acknowledge Exemplary Personalities In Football

The FIFA Best Awards occur every year, concluding an extensive and democratic process to acknowledge the world’s top football players, coaches, goalkeepers, fans, goals, and acts of fair play.

The Best FIFA awards typically cover achievements over a calendar year, in contrast to the Ballon d’Or, which considers performances throughout a season. However, for this year, the men’s awards were judged from December 19, 2022, to August 20, 2023, due to the inclusion of the Qatar World Cup in the 2022 ceremony.

On A Winning Streak

It has been a golden phase for the talented footballer from Argentina. Messi scored nine goals for PSG (Paris Saint- Germain FC), securing the Ligue 1 title; he added 10 goals in seven games with his current club, Inter Miami, helping them win the inaugural Leagues Cup in the United States. Messi joined Inter Miami from PSG and was a super hit instantly. He has scored 11 goals and assisted five times in 14 appearances for the Major League Soccer (MLS) side. He also won his eighth Ballon d’Or award last October. The attacker has won The Best FIFA Men’s Player prize more than any other player now having been recognised in 2019, 2022, and now 2023.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment