Home SPORTSFOOTBALL Ballon d’Or 2022 Nominees Announced

Ballon d’Or 2022 Nominees Announced

by Kolkata Today

The Ballon d’Or 2022, the 66th edition of the annual awards ceremony presented by France Football to recognise the best football players from the 2021/22 season,announced by France Football.

Apart from the Ballon d’Or and Ballon d’Or Feminin or Women’s awards, the nominees for Yashin Trophy (best performing goalkeeper) and Kopa Trophy (best under 21 player) also announced.

This will be the first time that the award is given based on performance from the bygone season rather than previous occasions when the award was given based on performance for the year.

The nominees for four different trophies, including the men’s and women’s Ballon d’Or, were revealed on Friday (with former record-winner Lionel Messi not making the list, but his rival Cristiano Ronaldo once again made the list.Cristiano Ronaldo has been nominated for the Ballon d’Or 18 times.

Lionel Messi fails to make the Ballon d’Or shortlist for the first time since 2005.The Argentine is the record holder with seven awards to his name but is a shocking omission this year.

He had a somewhat indifferent debut season at the Parc des Princes, managing 11 goals and 15 assists in 34 appearances.

Frontrunner Karim Benzema has been selected following one of the best seasons of his career, managing an astounding 44 goals in 46 appearances.

Benzema will also going up against Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane once again with the former Liverpool deadly duo having made the been shortlisted.

The two Liverpool legends are believed to be Benzema’s closest challengers for the award having had eye-catching campaigns in their own right.

Salah bagged 31 goals in 51 games whilst providing 16 assists whilst Mane managed 23 goals and five assists in 51 appearances.

The UEFA Champions League campaign is perhaps what wholly swings the Ballon d’Or in Benzema’s favor.

The Frenchman finished the tournament’s top scorer with 15 goals in 12 matches whilst leading Real Madrid to the trophy by beating Liverpool 1-0 in the final.

Benzema’s Madrid teammate and the scorer of the winning goal in the Champions League final victory over Liverpool, Vinicius Jr is also up for the award.

The Brazilian wonderkid is the youngest nominee at 22 years of age and recorded 22 goals and 20 assists in 52 appearances.

Barcelona’s new signing Robert Lewandowski also makes the shortlist having missed out to Messi over the past two years.

Many are of the football experts  belief the Polish striker should have won the award by now and he had yet another prolific season for Bayern last time out.

Robert Lewandowski managed a remarkable 50 goals in 46 appearances for the Bundesliga champions.

The awards ceremony takes place in Paris on October 17 and is sure to be a glittering affair.

Ballon d’Or 2022 Nominees:

Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)
Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)
Joao Cancelo (Manchester City)
Casemiro (Real Madrid)
Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid)
Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
Luis Diaz (Liverpool)
Fabinho (Liverpool)
Phil Foden (Manchester City)
Erling Haaland (Manchester City)
Sebastien Haller (Borussia Dortmund)
Harry Kane (Tottenham)
Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich)
Rafael Leao (AC Milan)
Robert Lewandowski (Barcelona)
Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City)
Mike Maignan (AC Milan)
Sadio Mane (Bayern Munich)
Kylian Mbappe (PSG)
Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
Christopher Nkunku (RB Leipzig)
Darwin Nunez (Liverpool)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)
Antonio Rudiger (Real Madrid)
Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
Bernardo Silva (Manchester City)
Heung-Min Son (Tottenham)
Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)
Vinicius JR (Real Madrid)
Dusan Vlahovic (Juventus)

Women’s Ballon d’Or 2022 Nominees:

Selma Bacha (Lyon)
Aitana Bonmati (Barcelona)
Millie Bright (Chelsea)
Lucy Bronze (Barcelona)
Kadidiatou Diani (PSG)
Christiane Endler (Lyon)
Ada Hegerberg (Lyon)
Marie-Antoinette Katoto (PSG)
Sam Kerr (Chelsea)
Catarina Macario (Lyon)
Beth Mead (Arsenal)
Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal)
Alex Morgan (San Diego Wave)
Lena Oberdorf (Wolfsburg)
Asisat Oshoala (Barcelona)
Alexandra Popp (Wolfsburg)
Alexia Putellas (Barcelona)
Wendie Renard (Lyon)
Trinity Rodman (Washington Spirit)
Fridolina Rolfo (Barcelona)

KOPA Trophy  Nominees:

Karim Adeyemi (Borussia Dortmund)
Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund)
Eduardo Camavinga (Real Madrid)
Gavi (Barcelona)
Ryan Gravenberch (Bayern Munich)
Josko Gvardiol (RB Leipzig)
Nuno Mendes (PSG)
Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich)
Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)
Florian Wirtz (Bayer Leverkusen)


Alisson Becker (Liverpool)
Yassine Bounou (Sevilla)
Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid)
Ederson (Manchester City)
Hugo Lloris (Tottenham)
Mike Maignan (AC Milan)
Edouard Mendy (Chelsea)
Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich)
Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid)
Kevin Trapp (Eintracht Frankfurt)
The awards will be given out at a ceremony in Paris on October 17.

About Ballon d’Or :The Ballon d’Or is an annual football award presented by French news magazine France Football since 1956. Between 2010 and 2015, in an agreement with FIFA, the award was temporarily merged with the FIFA World Player of the Year (founded in 1991) and known as the FIFA Ballon d’Or. That partnership ended in 2016, and the award reverted to the Ballon d’Or, while FIFA also reverted to its own separate annual award The Best FIFA Men’s Player. The recipients of the joint FIFA Ballon d’Or are considered as winners by both award organisations.

Conceived by sports writers Gabriel Hanot and Jacques Ferran, the Ballon d’Or award honours the male player deemed to have performed the best over the previous year, based on voting by football journalists, from 1956 to 2006.After 2007, coaches and captains of national teams were also given the right to vote.Originally, it was awarded only to players from Europe and widely known as the European Footballer of the Year award. In 1995, the Ballon d’Or was expanded to include all players from any origin that have been active at European clubs.The award became a global prize in 2007 with all professional footballers from around the world being eligible.


Ballon d’Or Awards Football Sports Kolkata

Related Articles

Leave a Comment