Home NEWSCURRENT AFFAIRS Bhajanlal Sharma: Rajasthan’s New Chief Minister

Bhajanlal Sharma: Rajasthan’s New Chief Minister

by Web Desk
Rajasthan's New Chief Minister


As was informed earlier by the party spokespersons, Rajasthan’s new Chief Minister was announced on December 12, 2023, in the evening. First-time MLA Bhajanlal Sharma is the newest Rajasthan chief minister. The state will have two deputy CMs- Diya Kumari and Prem Chand Bairwa. Vasudev Devnaniwill be the Speaker. The names were announced by the BJP central observer for Rajasthan, Rajnath Singh.

On Tuesday, the party selected first-time MLA Bhajanlal Sharma as Rajasthan’s new chief minister, ending days of speculation that followed its victory in the assembly polls. This was a surprise choice that was announced after the meeting of the newly elected BJP MLAs.The MLA from Sanganer was elected as the leader of its legislature party.


At the meeting, the CM-designate’s name was proposed by the former chief minister Vasundhara Raje, a heavyweight of the party in the state and whose name was doing the rounds for the top post.

Hailing from Nadbai in Bharatpur district, Bhajan Lal Sharma, 56, was fielded as the BJP candidate from Sanganer. He defeated Congress’s Pushpendra Bhardwaj with a margin of 48,081 votes. In his capacity as the State Unit’s general secretary, he was looking after the party’s organizational matters.

After being selected, Vasudev Devnani expressed his gratitude to the central and state leaderships on Tuesday and said that he would work to take forward the idea and tradition of Rajasthan.”I express gratitude to the Central and State leaderships who expressed faith in me and gave me a new responsibility. I will shoulder this to the best of my abilities under the guidance of all senior leaders. Together, we will take forward the idea and tradition of Rajasthan,” Devnani told ANI.

Devnani further stated that used his experiences to bring both opposition and ruling parties together on the issue of development of Rajasthan.

“I have experience as an MLA and Education Minister. I’ll use all these experiences and will try to bring both opposition and ruling parties together,” he added.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Tuesday selected Prem Chand Bairwa as the new Deputy Chief Minister of Rajasthan who is the sitting BJP MLA from the Dudu constituency in Rajasthan. He won the seat in the 2023 Rajasthan Assembly Election by defeating Congress candidate Babulal Nagar with a margin of 35,743 votes.

Diya Kumari won from the Vidyadhar Nagar constituency against Congress’ Sitaram Agarwal with a margin of 71368 votes.As the granddaughter of Man Singh II, the last ruling maharaja of the princely state of Jaipur, she appealed for votes as a “daughter of Jaipur” and the “princess who walks on the streets”.She joined the BJP in 2013 and has won the two elections she contested. She became an elected Member of the Legislative Assembly of Rajasthan from the Sawai Madhopur constituency in 2013. In the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, she was elected as an MP from Rajsamand.



Related Articles

Leave a Comment