Home Latest News BJP Releases First List of Candidates for LS Elections 2024

BJP Releases First List of Candidates for LS Elections 2024

by Web Desk

List Carries 195 Names and accompanying Seats 

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) released first list of 195 candidates for 2024 Lok Sabha polls today. Prime Minister Narendra Modi will contest from the Varanasi seat. Former Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan is all set to contest the Lok Sabha Elections 2024 from Vidhisha. The names of Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Aviation Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia, Minister of Women and Child Development Smriti Irani, and Defence Minister Rajnath Singh also feature in the first list of candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls.

Candidates have been announced for 51 seats from Uttar Pradesh, 20 from West Bengal, 24 from Madhya Pradesh, 15 each from Gujarat and Rajasthan, 12 from Kerala, 9 seats from Telangana, 11 from Assam, 11 each from Jharkhand and Chhattisgarh, 5 from Delhi, 3 from Uttarakhand, 2 from Jammu & Kashmir, 2 from Arunachal Pradesh and 1 each from Tripura, Goa, Andaman & Nicobar and Daman & Diu.

 Sushma Swaraj’s daughter Bansuri Swaraj will be contesting the Lok Sabha polls from Delhi for the first time. She will be contesting from New Delhi seat.

In its first list, the Bharatiya Janata Party has declared candidates for five of the seven Lok Sabha seats in Delhi. 

The candidates for these are: 

New Delhi – Bansuri Swaraj

Chandni Chowk – Praveen Khandelwal

South Delhi – Ramvir Singh Bidhuri

West Delhi – Kamaljeet Sehrawat

North East – Manoj Tiwari

Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal will contest the Dibrugarh seat in Assam. 

The BJP declared names for 11 out of 14 seats in Assam on Saturday.

The first of the BJP includes:

West Bengal: 20 seats

Madhya Pradesh: 24 seats

Gujarat: 15 seats

Rajasthan: 15 seats

Kerala: 12 seats

Telangana: 9 seats

Assam: 11 seats

Jharkhand: 11 seats

Chhattisgarh: 11 seats

Delhi: 5 seats

BJP leader Bishnu Pada Rey will contest the lone seat of the Andaman and Nicobar.

Ramesh Bidhuri, Parvesh Verma, Meenakshi Lekhi, Harsh Vardhan have been dropped from Delhi Lok Sabha seats, while Sadhvi Pragya Thakur has been dropped from Bhopal.

Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur, who is an MP from Bhopal, hasn’t been given a ticket to contest polls from this seat. Rather, Alok Sharma has been fielded from Bhopal this time.

Bollywood actor Hema Malini will contest the Lok Sabha polls from Mathura. She has been represented Mathura constituency since 2014.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah will contest the 2024 Lok Sabha Elections from Gandhinagar seat.

Some of the prominent candidates and their seats are: 

Rajnath Singh: Lucknow

Smriti Irani: Amethi

Dr Jitendra Singh: Udhampur

Ravi Kishan: Gorakhpur

Kiran Rijiju: Arunachal West

Jyotiraditya Scindia: Guna

Mahesh Kashyap: Bastar

Parveen Khandelwal: Chandni Chowk, Delhi

Manoj Tiwari: North-East Delhi

Nishikant Dubey: Godda in Jharkhand

Ajay Mishra Teni: Kheri, UP

West Bengal list of 20 candidates declared

The list of 20 candidates that was declared today carries several BJP state heavyweights and prominent names as was expected. Dr. Sukanta Majumdar will contest from Balurghat, Santanu Thakur from Bongaon (SC), Locket Chatterjee from Hooghly, Soumitro Khan from Bishnupur among them.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment