Home LIFESTYLE Prime Minister Narendra Modi Inaugurates Dwarka Expressway

Prime Minister Narendra Modi Inaugurates Dwarka Expressway

by Web Desk


Prime Minister: Projects to boost economic growth and build next-gen


Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday inaugurated the Haryana section of Dwarka
Expressway, India's inaugural 8-lane project spanning 19 km and constructed at a cost
of ₹4,100 crore. It aims to ease congestion between Delhi and Gurugram on National
Highway (NH) 48 and facilitate traffic flow considerably. Alongside, 112 National
Highways spread across different states, were dedicated to the nation or their
foundation stones laid. In a post on his official handle on X, Narendra Modi said,” Today
is an important day for connectivity across India. At around 12 noon today, 112 National
Highways, spread across different states, will be dedicated to the nation or their
foundation stones would be laid. The Haryana Section of Dwarka Expressway will be
inaugurated. These projects will boost economic growth and are also in line with our
efforts to build next-generation infrastructure.”

This segment of Dwarka Expressway that was inaugurated encompasses a 10.2 km
stretch from the Delhi-Haryana Border to Basai Rail-over-Bridge (ROB) and an 8.7 km
section from Basai ROB to Kherki Daula. The road will be a direct connection between
the Indira Gandhi International (IGI) Airport in Delhi and the Gurugram Bypass.
Dwarka Expressway: Here are the details
The Dwarka Expressway is being built with a construction cost of ₹9,000
crore. It is divided into four segments. The third and fourth segments,
approximately 19 km, are in Gurugram while the other two segments,
collectively 10 km, are located in Delhi.
It originates from Shiv Murti near Mahipalpur on the Delhi-Gurgaon
Expressway. The new road traverses through Dwarka Sector 21, Gurugram
border, Basai, and concludes near Kherki Daula on the national highway.
A pioneering initiative in the country, it will be an impressive, entirely
access-controlled, grade-separated 14-lane expressway.

It will have four multi-level interchanges including tunnels or underpasses, a
ground-level road section, an elevated flyover, and a flyover built above the
initial flyover.
The state-of-the-art highway will feature an 8-lane elevated structure
alongside India's first 4 km long 8-lane tunnel near the IGI airport.
According to media sources, it is described as a 'shallow tunnel', meaning it
does not penetrate deeply or require tunnel boring machines. The tunnel
construction of this type became imperative due to the impossibility of
erecting an elevated structure so close to the airport.
The starting point of the Dwarka Expressway will be an interchange
comprising two underpasses beneath the existing NH 48, integrated with an
elevated corridor.
According to data released by the government, NH 48 sees the passage of
over 3 lakh vehicles daily. The expressway construction aims to alleviate
traffic congestion, minimise productivity losses that are caused by traffic
snarl-ups, and reduce vehicular pollution in the region.
Construction on the Dwarka Expressway commenced in 2018 and initially
slated for completion by 2021. However, project deadlines had to be
stretched owing to the Covid-19 pandemic.
The National Highways Authority India of (NHAI) has announced that work
on the entire project will be concluded by August this year.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment