Home NEWSCURRENT UPDATE Sheikh Hasina Wins For The Fifth Term As Bangladesh’s PM

Sheikh Hasina Wins For The Fifth Term As Bangladesh’s PM

by Web Desk
Sheikh Hasina Wins For The Fifth Term As Bangladesh PM

Sheikh Hasina’s new cabinet which comprises 25 ministers and 11 state ministers is set to be sworn in the evening today in Dhaka, Bangladesh. On Wednesday, President Mohammed Sahabuddin invited the Awami League President and incumbent prime minister Sheikh Hasina to form the new government. President Sahabuddin will administer the oath to the new cabinet members at Durbar Hall of the Bangabhaban in Dhaka.

Awami League Victorious By A Huge Margin

Hasina’s party, Awami League bagged a landslide victory in the parliament polls held last Sunday. This will be her fifth term as the Prime Minister of Bangladesh.

Several Old Names Dropped From Current Ministers’ List

The Cabinet Secretary on Wednesday night announced the list of ministers and as per the list, 15 ministers of the last cabinet were dropped. These included some heavyweights like Finance Minister AHM Mustafa Kamal, Agriculture Minister Dr Abdur Razzak, Foreign Minister Dr AK Momen, and Commerce Minister Tipu Munshi. A total of 15 ministers, 13 state ministers, and two deputy ministers have not so far been called to take oath to join the Bangladesh new cabinet.

The new entrants in the cabinet as cabinet ministers include former commerce minister Lt Colonel (retd) Mohammad Farooq Khan, former foreign minister Abul Hassan Mahmood Ali, and former prime minister’s special envoy Saber Hossain Chowdhury. Regarding portfolios allocated, the secretary said that it would be known today after taking the oath.

In the 12th National Elections that took place on Sunday (7 January), the Awami League-led alliance bagged a landslide victory with 225 seats. Awami League bagged 222 seats alone. The incumbent prime minister herself had been re-elected with 249,965 votes. The runner-up received 469.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment