Home NEWSCITY TALKS Lalduhoma – The New Chief Minister Of Mizoram

Lalduhoma – The New Chief Minister Of Mizoram

by Web Desk
Lalduhoma - The New Chief Minister Of Mizoram

Who is the New Chief Minister Of Mizoram

Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) leader Lalduhoma was sworn in as the new chief minister of the northeast Indian state of Mizoram today, December 08, 2023. Mizoram Governor Hari Babu Kambhampati administered the oath of office and secrecy to Lalduhoma and other ministers at the swearing-in ceremony at the Raj Bhavan complex in Aizwal. Lalduhoma is the first-ever Chief Minister of the state who is not from either the Mizo National Front (MNF) or the Congress. Evolving from an activist group to a political party ahead of the 2018 Mizoram Legislative Assembly election, the Zoram People’s Movement emerged victorious in the recently held State Assembly elections, where they attained a win on 27 out of 40 seats.


The 73- year-old bureaucrat is a former IPS officer. Lalduhoma was the security-in-charge of former Indian prime minister Indira Gandhi in 1982. He left the security service in 1984 and the same year joined hands with Congress. As a politician, he was elected as a Member of Parliament to the Lok Sabha from Mizoram. Before ZPM took shape, the leader was elected as MLA in 2003 from Zoram Nationalist Party, which he founded.

The leader found himself amid a political upheaval when he got disqualified twice under the anti-defection law as a lawmaker. In the 2018 elections, Lalduhoma was elected as an Independent MLA. Till such time, ZPM had not gained recognition from the Election Commission of India (ECI). In 2019 ZPM got its recognition as a political party by the election body and Lalduhoma has been representing his party since then. K. Sapdanga, who won the Aizawl North-III constituency in the state elections, was elected as the deputy leader of the ZPM Legislative Party.


The Legislative Assembly of Mizoram can have 40 members who are directly elected from single-seat constituencies. The majority mark in the state’s Assembly is 21. The ZPM won 27 in the elections and attained a majority effectively dethroning the Mizo National Front (MNF) under the outgoing chief minister Zoramthanga. The MNF, which won 26 seats in previous polls in 2018, managed to win only 10 this time.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment